Skip Navigation

Languages Available

  1. English
  2. Français
  3. 中文

Government of Mauritius

Quick Links

Bookmark and Share Print this page

The East Africa Trade and Investment Hub (EATIH) on a benchmarking visit to Mauritius

To acquire deeper insight into the Mauritius business platform, the East Africa Trade and Investment Hub (EATIH)  is currently on a benchmarking visit till Thursday 29th June 2017.  In this context, the Board of Investment is conducting a two-day workshop for the EATIH representative.

DSC 6230 V1

from left to right: Ms. Christine Ng`ang`a, Managing Director, Strategia Advisors Ltd, & Mr. Janesh Dookan, Manager, Outward Investment, BOI.

The program aims at:

  • Presenting an overview of the Mauritian Economy & the Investment Landscape
  • Introducing the Mauritius Africa Strategy and the role of The Africa Centre of Excellence and its Outward Investment Cluster
  • Sharing BOI’s experience regarding various its business clusters, namely agribusiness, freeport, manufacturing, ocean economy, technology, innovation & services, smart city and real estate, education, film, healthcare, while the financial services will be presented in collaboration with the Financial Services Promotion Agency (FSPA)
  • Exploring  opportunities to work with BOI in order to attract more investment in Mauritius.

In 2016, EATIH partnered with the regional investment promotion agencies (IPAs) in Kenya, Uganda, Ethiopia, Rwanda and Burundi in a capacity building program to identify and develop 10 investment projects to showcase at the UNCTAD Investment forum.  The hub has appointed a consultant to impart best practices within regional IPAs to enable them to attract and retain investment.   Accordingly, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed between BOI and EATIH in September 2016.

The objective of the  East Africa Trade and Investment Hub (EATIH) is to facilitate investment to the tune of  USD 100 million, thereby creating 10,000 jobs by 2019. The investment section works in four priority sectors within the EAC, Ethiopia and Madagascar, namely agribusiness, financial services, cotton textile & apparel, ICT and health innovation.

28 June 2017